Lamborghini’s Driver Squad

Photo Credit: Lamborghini

24 May 2021

Sant’Agata Bolognese, 18 December 2020 – Lamborghini Squadra Corse has unveiled its roster of Factory Drivers for the 2021 season, which will see the return of long-time Lamborghini servant Mirko Bortolotti and the graduation of recently crowned British GT champion Sandy Mitchell into the ranks. Also stepping up is the Lamborghini Young Driver of the year Raul Guzman, who will become the development test driver of the Huracán GT3 Evo.

A number of the existing Factory Driver contingent retains their places as official drivers for 2021. Five Italians feature in the programme: 2019 GT World Challenge Europe champions Andrea Caldarelli, (who also won the 24 Hours of Daytona in 2020), and Marco Mapelli continue, as do Giacomo Altoè and Giovanni Venturini. After a season racing with Audi Sport in 2020, Mirko Bortolotti makes a welcome return to Sant’Agata Bolognese as a Factory Driver for 2021. Bortolotti has been a key figure in the success of Lamborghini’s GT3 ventures in the past, having helped Grasser Racing take victory in the GTD class of the 24 Hours of Daytona in 2018 and 2019.

Albert Costa and Franck Perera have also retained their places in the program, while Scottish Lamborghini GT3 Junior driver Sandy Mitchell is rewarded for his standout 2020 season during which he added another class victory in the 24 Hours of Spa, in the Pro-Am category, to his British GT title. The 20-year-old has proven to be one of the most gifted drivers in the Lamborghini Youngster Program, much like Raul Guzman, who enjoyed an excellent season in the Lamborghini Super Trofeo Europe championship. The Mexican driver impressed during the end of 2021 Young Driver Program assessment tests and will carry out development tests in the Huracán GT3 Evo in 2022.


2021 Lamborghini Squadra Corse Factory Drivers

Giacomo Altoè (20 y/o Italy)
Mirko Bortolotti (30 y/o Italy)
Andrea Caldarelli (30 y/o, Italy)
Albert Costa (30 y/o Spain)
Marco Mapelli (33 y/o Italy)
Sandy Mitchell (20 y/o United Kingdom)
Franck Perera (36 y/o France)
Giovanni Venturini (29 y/o Italy)