Shell Returns to V8 SuperCars

Photo Credit: Team Penske

23 November 2019

In 2017, Shell returned as the major sponsor of DJR Team Penske, now known as the Shell V-Power Racing Team.

Young kiwi racer Scott McLaughlin joined the team alongside countryman Fabian Coulthard, and success immediately followed, with the team’s first race wins since the DJR and Team Penske partnership began.

All up, 2017 would see the team take an incredible 12 wins, 17 pole positions and 27 podiums on the way to claiming the Teams’ Championship for the first time.
Coulthard took his career best Championship finish in third place, while McLaughlin finished the year second in the Drivers’ title, going perilously close to taking the Title in Newcastle.

Heading into 2018, DJR Team Penske will sit at the top of pit lane for the first time and look to continue taking the challenge to its rivals in the Supercars Championship