Another Podium for Papadakis Racing

Photo Credit: Papadakis Racing

3 October 2020
  • Seattle, Washington – September 2020

Rockstar Energy Drink driver Fredric Aasbo now leads the Formula Drift points after a second-place result in Seattle. It was the second podium in three rounds for the driver, who debuted his all-new Toyota GR Supra with a win earlier this month in St. Louis.

It was a close final match-up between former champions Aasbo (2015) and fellow Nitto Tire driver Vaughn Gittin Jr. (2010) that saw Aasbo take the second spot on the podium.

There are no easy battles in this series,” said Aasbo, who advanced out of the opening bracket to face his teammate Ryan Tuerck in the Top 16. “You have to be ready to go to war the second you get to the track and fight hard through every step of the ladder.”

A compressed schedule for doubleheader weekends means the qualifying brackets are set by a random draw this season. Luck wasn’t with Papadakis Racing as team drivers Aasbo and Tuerck found themselves head-to-head in the Top 16.

Judges called for a One-More-Time rematch after both teammates put down aggressive runs in their first match-up. Aasbo was able to capitalize on changing grip levels in the rematch to edge the Rockstar Energy Drink Toyota GR Supra into the Great 8 past Tuerck in the Gumout / Nitto Tire / Mobil 1 Toyota Corolla Hatchback.

“It’s tough going up against your teammate, especially in an early round,” said Tuerck. “But that’s what happens in drifting sometimes and we’ll come back fighting Sunday.

Despite an early exit from the contest, Tuerck remains tied for second in the points standings on the strength of a back-to-back podium weekend earlier this month in St. Louis. Manufacturer partner Toyota is currently in the lead of the Auto Cup points, while tire partner Nitto tops the Tire Cup rankings.

Drivers Aasbo and Tuerck came out swinging at the first two Formula Drift events of the season. Aasbo drove the all-new Rockstar Energy Drink Toyota GR Supra to victory in its competition debut, while Tuerck earned a pair of podiums in the Gumout / Nitto Tire / Mobil 1 Toyota Corolla Hatchback.

After Seattle, teams will head to Dallas. A new track layout at Texas Motor Speedway will make use of the facilities’ permanent grandstands to accommodate fans. The series recently announced a shift in the dates and that competition is now scheduled for 3 days.

Aasbo is the most winning driver in Formula Drift history, with 14 career victories. He joined Papadakis Racing in 2011 and earned the series crown in 2015. He started his Formula Drift career in 2010 as a privateer in a Mark IV Supra and comes full circle this season the all-new Toyota GR Supra.

Tuerck is a leading social influencer and top-tier driver with a career 14 podiums. His down-home charm, commitment to the sport’s grassroots, and talent in front of the camera have brought him a social fanbase of over a million followers. Earlier this year, he retired his previous chassis, a powerful Toyota 86.