Bryan Herta Announces Three Car Team for 2020 IMSA Series

Photo Credit: Bryan Herta

11 January 2020

Bryan Herta Autosport (BHA) with Curb Agajanian, the 2019 IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge (IMPC) champions, announced today they will enter three Hyundai Veloster N TCR’s in the 2020 IMSA championship.

Team owner Bryan Herta commented, “Hyundai has very quickly established themselves as serious competitors in worldwide motorsports, across multiple platforms. Bringing back our champions, Mark Wilkins and Michael Lewis, along with race winners, Mason Filippi and Harry Gottsacker, for another season was a no-brainer. Having another incredible pairing in Gabby Chaves and Ryan Norman is sure to make us even stronger this season.”

Gabby Chaves, 27, from Bogota, Columbia returns to familiar surroundings at BHA, Chaves won the 2015 IndyCar Rookie of the Year title while driving for Bryan Herta Autosport. “It’s so great to start 2020 on such a positive note and coming back to BHA is just awesome,” said Chaves. “Hyundai’s commitment to this program and the development of the Veloster N TCR really stands out, and to drive for them will be a career highlight. I can’t wait to see what we can accomplish together.”

“Bryan Herta became a mentor to me while I drove at Andretti Autosport. To join his team and race for BHA and Hyundai is such an honor,” said Norman. “I got up to speed very quickly in the new car during a test just before Christmas and felt comfortable immediately. We will be in contention for race wins all year and that is a wonderful feeling going into a new season.”

Round one of the 2020 IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge takes place Friday, January 24th at 1pm EST. All ten rounds of the 2020 championship will stream live in the U.S. on TrackPass on NBC Sports Gold.